Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Socio-Economic issues » Human Rights

Post subject: A SAD STORY OF A LAWYER WHO HAD TO FLEE FOR HIS LIFE
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 5:46 pm 
A SAD STORY OF A LAWYER WHO HAD TO FLEE FOR HIS LIFE

18th February 1997
Source: Lankaweb - Padmasiri de Silva reports from Colombo

I am a lawyer from Teldeniya in the Kandy District of Sri Lanka presently living in England as a political refugee. I was the president of the Teldeniya Human Rights Organisation (THRO) which was initially organised to monitor and prevent human rights abuses in the local area either by subversive organisations or by the Sri Lankan Government security forces and also to provide legal assistance to those detained under the emergency regulations. I was also a member of the executive committee of the Kandy Citizens Committee.

In June 1989, during a protest demonstration which was organised by the students of the Teldeniya Maha Vidyalaya (Teldeniya Senior School) to protest against the arrest and detention of one of their schoolmates, the police entered the school premises forcefully and opened fire killing one student ( A.W.M.Jayantha Bandara aged 16) and injuring nine others.